BookMarvels vs Booksy
Booksy is a booking app and consumer marketplace used by many barbers and beauty professionals. Here's how the two compare, from Booksy's own public pages.
| Feature | BookMarvels | Booksy |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly software price | $0 a month with Clover payments through Merchant Marvels | $29.99 a month plus tax |
| Extra staff | No per-staff fees | +$20 a month per extra staff member |
| Free trial | Not needed: the software is free | 14 days |
| Online booking | Yes: hosted page, embed for your site, short link | Yes, including a website widget |
| Reminders | Appointment texts included (300 segments a month), email free; your own number $10/month | Text reminders |
| Email and text marketing | Email ($5 per 10,000) and text campaigns | Email and text blasts |
| Gift cards, memberships, packages | Gift cards, memberships, packages | Gift cards, memberships, packages |
| Deposits | Yes, per service or per client; no-show fees with a waive window | Yes |
| Commission and payroll | Commission, tips, hourly, payroll report | Commission reports |
| Booth renters | Yes, including rent and their own Clover account | Yes (Shared Location) |
| App for staff | Yes: My day, an installable web app | Yes |
| Multiple locations | Yes | Not stated |
| Consumer marketplace | No consumer marketplace | Yes (Boost: a one-time 30% fee on new clients, capped at $100) |
| Clover | Built on Clover | Not stated |
| No-show protection | Yes: card on file, and the fee is charged automatically after your waive window | Cancellation and no-show fees, deposits |
| Reply to confirm | Yes: clients reply C to confirm or R to reschedule | Not stated |
| Waitlist fills open times | Yes: a freed time is offered to the next client, held for them, then the next | Waitlist clients get a text with a link to book |
| Standing appointments | Yes: every 1 to 8 weeks, ending after a number of visits or on a date | Recurring appointments |
| Walk-in line and QR check-in | Yes: a walk-in line with a QR code at the door and a kiosk, wait times and a text when you're ready | Not stated |
| Booth rent and payouts | Yes: booth rent invoices and statements; renters can be paid to their own Clover account | Not built in: their help center says a multi-staff business handles staff payouts outside the app |
| Reserve with Google | Built; switched on once Google approves us | Book from Google Search and Maps |
| Forms, waivers and formulas | Yes: intake forms and waivers with e-signature, colour formulas and photos | Partly: intake forms and waivers; client notes and photos (formulas not stated) |
| Quick checkout with tips | Yes: one screen with tip presets, card on file, gift cards and Clover | Tips at checkout, card on file |
| Set-up presets | Yes: barbershop or salon settings (walk-ins, notice, reminders), previewed before you switch | Not stated |
| Export your data | Yes: clients, appointments, payments, memberships and gift cards, yourself, any time | Partly: a copy on request from their support team |
Booksy information from biz.booksy.com/en-us/pricing, biz.booksy.com/en-us/features, read on October 3, 2026; the rows from no-show protection down from no-show protection, calendar, payments, waitlist, staff payouts, data copy, read on October 5, 2026. “Not stated” means we didn't find it on those pages; Booksy may still offer it. Prices change: check Booksy's site for today's. Booksy is a trademark of its owner; we're not affiliated.
Booksy may suit you if
- You want to be listed in a large consumer marketplace
- You prefer Booksy's own payment processing
BookMarvels may suit you if
- You use Clover, or want to: the software is free with it
- You have several staff members (no per-staff charge)
- You want commission, booth rent and payroll in the same place
Moving from Booksy? We have a ready-made import for Booksy's client export. How importing works.
Try BookMarvels
Free with Clover. Book a test appointment at our demo barbershop first if you like.